5th Workshop on Advances in Secure Electronic Voting


A Workshop Associated with Financial Crypto 2020
February 14, 2020
Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

Call for Papers

Elections are the foundations of democracy and they have been the target for attack since the dawn of democracy. Over the last few decades the introduction of digital technologies to elections has opened up a raft of new attack vectors. Recently, US has placed voting technologies on the list of national, critical infrastructures. Secure voting protocols, in particular so-called end-to-end verifiable schemes, have been a hot topic of research for the last decade or so. Voting poses many challenges: the precise characterization of subtle properties including verifiability and coercion resistance, accountability etc. and the design and analysis of schemes providing these properties in a complex, hostile environment. The field requires a deep understanding of modern crypto and information security but is also highly interdisciplinary, requiring understanding of the role of humans, physical components, procedures, legal and regulatory aspects etc.

Important Dates

New! Extra late submission deadline December 15, 2019

Submissions deadlineNovember 18, 2019 AoE
Notification of acceptanceDecember 16, 2019
Late submissions deadlineDecember 15, 2019 AoE
Late notification of acceptance beforeJanuary 5, 2020


Papers should contain original research in any area related to electronic voting technologies, verifiable elections, and related concerns. Example topics include but are not limited to:

  • In-person voting systems
  • Remote/Internet voting systems
  • Voter registration and authentication systems
  • Procedures for ballot and election auditing
  • Cryptographic (or non-cryptographic) verifiable election schemes
  • Attacks on existing systems
  • Trust models
  • Resilience and robustness of voting systems
  • Designs of new systems
  • Experiences deploying voting systems or conducting elections
  • Experiences detecting and recovering from election problems
  • Formal or informal security or requirements analysis
  • Examination of usability and accessibility issues
  • Research on relevant regulations, standards, or laws

Papers describing experiences deploying voting systems, conducting elections, or detecting and recovering from election problems are welcome, so long as they include enough rigorous analysis to constitute original research.

Submissions will be judged on originality, relevance, correctness, and clarity.

The workshop solicits submissions of manuscripts that represent significant and novel research contributions. Submissions must not substantially overlap with works that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings.

Submissions should follow the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science format and should be no more than 15 pages including references and well-marked appendices. Accepted papers will appear in the proceedings published by Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Authors who seek to submit their works to journals may opt-out by publishing an extended abstract only.

Short papers with a length of maximal 8 pages, will also be accepted as submissions this year, and can be used to introduce work in progress, novel applications, and voting experiences. These submissions must be clearly marked "Short papers:".

Also "Systemization of Knowledge" papers will be accepted and have a page limit of 15 pages but *excluding* references. These should be marked "SoK:".

All submissions will be reviewed double-blind, and as such, must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, or obvious references.

Submission website: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=voting20

Program Chairs

Matt BernhardUniversity of Michigan
Peter B. RønneUniversity of Luxembourg

Program Committee (confirmed members)

Roberto Araujo Universidade Federal do Pará
Josh Benaloh Microsoft Research
Véronique Cortier CNRS, Loria
Chris Culnane University of Melbourne
Jeremy Epstein SRI
Aleksander Essex Western University
Josh Franklin OutStack Technologies
Kristian Gjøsteen Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology
Rajeev Gore The Australian National University
Rolf Haenni Bern University of Applied Sciences
Reto Koenig Bern University of Applied Sciences
Steve Kremer INRIA Nancy
Robert Krimmer Tallinn University of Technology
Oksana Kulyk IT University of Copenhagen
Olivier Pereira Universite catholique de Louvain
Mark Ryan Birmingham
Peter Y.A. Ryan University of Luxembourg
Steve Schneider University of Surrey
Carsten Schuermann IT University of Copenhagen
Philip Stark University of California, Berkeley
Vanessa Teague The University of Melbourne
Poorvi Vora The George Washington University
Dan Wallach Rice University